Hand Made vs. Store Bought

As I’m sitting here working on a project for my teenager daughter, I’m pondering how well this would sell in my Etsy shop.  I love crafts! I love sharing my crafts! I love it all so much I decided to start selling my items. I’ve gotten a lot of positive feedback and so many “OMG I ‘LOVE’ that!!” that I can’t count. But “I love that” doesn’t equal sales. At first I questioned why and I’m sure the biggest drawback for people once the “love” my stuff is the price.

Follow Your Arrow...another handmade piece.

Follow Your Arrow…another handmade piece.

Here’s thing…supplies cost money and my time is valuable. Sure I may “love” to craft, but I still deserve to get paid for it. I feel my labor rates are reasonable. The costs of supplies is something I can not control. I can’t TELL Hobby Lobby or Michael’s to put things on sale just for me….although wouldn’t that be nice?!  Do you know how stores are able to sell their completed decor, gifts, and jewelry for a fraction of what us hand made crafters can? Because they have huge manufacturing facilities to produce hundreds of the same item at a time. Simple as that…for us “little people” of the craft world we’re just 1 person with 2 hands. Each item we make takes time and most importantly CARE. We don’t rush through a project and we want your item to be perfect before it’s mailed out. If it’s not perfect, we start all over again. We’re our own QC.

So the next time you’re trying to save a little bit of money or gasp when you see the price tag on handmade items, just remember, there’s a real live person creating your one of a kind gifts…not a machine! That person cares about YOU, the customer, and puts their blood, sweat, and tears, along with a sense of pride in every single item that crosses their craft room table.

P.S. Here’s my Etsy shop: http://www.etsy.com/shop/asoutherngirlsgifts

Leave a Reply

